Psyched About Christ

Hello readers and HAPPY EASTER (tomorrow)! (If you are not a Christian or celebrate Easter, then HAPPY Saturday!) First, sorry for going AWOL on you guys! Lots has happened in a like a month… I think??? I am going to be attending The Citadel Graduate Program in South Carolina (any jobs around that area PLEASE let me know!) Second, I got a part-time job and another part-time job…ish?? And I have been working a lot… So, it’s hard for me to write every week but I will make an effort to try.

Anyway, this post! So tomorrow Easter and for those who don’t know Easter commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection from death, as written in the Christian bible. Yes, dear readers, as so many know I do consider myself a follower of Christ Jesus or as many like to call us Christians. If you didn’t know this, what blog have you been reading?

But LESLEY!!! You want to be a psychologist… isn’t that like anti-God? Well… no. Believing in God or not is not a professional qualification for being a psychologist or psychiatrist. That is a personal decision everyone will make on their own. If it is an important question to you ask your provider about whether they believe in God or not. My answer will be yes. And this blog will explain why.

christian-psychology1

For starts I want to clarify that psychology is not “the study of the soul.” (psyche in Greek is soul). It is actually the study of mind more specifically it is the science of behavior and mind, embracing all aspects of conscious and unconscious experience as well as thought. So, I can be a psychologist and know what you are struggling with behaviorally and mentally not spiritually.

Second, you do not have to read this if you don’t want to. I think it will be fun to get to know my own deep and personal thoughts on some subject areas though.

Here is why I think I can be both Christian and psychologist. I think it is a little bit of both. I can use psychological insights to be a better Christian, and I can use Christian truths to be a better psychologist.

The Bible does not mention anything about psychology (the study of behavior and mind).  So how can being a psychologist help my faith. How when we are warned not to be taken captive by the world’s philosophies and principles, but to walk in the fullness of Christ. “See to it that no one takes you captive through philosophy and empty deception, according to the tradition of men, according to the elementary principles of the world, rather than according to Christ.” Colossians 2:8 I get it. Using teachings of man can led people to a spiritual death which is worse than a physical death. Why? Because most of man’s knowledge is flawed. As a psychologist, I will using the Hippocratic Oath which is “First do no harm.” To me this means no harm physically, mentally, or spiritually.

Of course, I will do no harm physically, that’s not what I deal with. I will do no harm mentally; I will be trained how to heal mentally. But how to avoid doing harm spiritually? I need to learn all the Christian truths. Become so knowledgeable and so strong in my faith that I can (in Jesus’s name) heal.

So how can being a Christian make me a better psychologist? I’m not going to push my faith on any of my clients. That is not psychologically ethical. However, being a Christian according to 1 John 2:6 I have to walk in the same manner as He walked. How did He walk? He walked with compassion and love, with understanding and hope. As a Christian I need to walk by the His Spirit, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.” Galatians 5: 22-25. This truth tells me that I need to be like the Spirit. Walking by the Spirit helps me be more understanding of people’s pain and suffering. Nobody likes a psychologist who can’t understand or at least be compassionate. It is sad to say that there are psychologists out there like that, who are only it for the money or the title. That is not to say that there are not Christians out there who are white washed graves.

One last point, psychology teaches selfish self-love. Yes and no. While psychology does help self-esteem, the main goal of psychology is to improve the mind and behavior and thus life. This can also be accomplished with the Bible. Of course! The Bible does not teach self-love but rather love for others. Again, yes and no. Matthew 22:37-39 says, “37 And He said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the great and foremost commandment. 39 The second is like it, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” So, love God first, but love your neighbor as yourself…. How does that work? I mean if you hate yourself you can’t love others. How can you not love yourself when God loves you? Like who are you to tell the creator of the universe that you don’t love yourself? Knowing this Christian truth, I can then move forward and help others love themselves, not as the world requires them to which is with envy and pride and boastful esteem, but how God calls them to love themselves with kindness and goodness and faith and joy.

I am not going to push my faith on my clients. I will not even bring up faith unless I am told too, but I will be wearing my cross, the mark of faith.  If they bring it up, I want to be so strong in my faith that I can help them work through their struggles and pains while helping them build a stronger relationship with God.

15697728_1385310644847268_2299671280134367578_n

I want to close by saying I am human. I am by no means perfect, and yes, I do sometimes struggle psychologically and sometimes spiritually (and we all know that I struggle financially), but I keep going because I know that I am from God and I have overcome them; because greater is He who lives in me than he who is in the world. 1 John 4:4.

Some will judge me, and call me a fake Christian or a fake psychologist or both. I welcome it! Judge on world, for in the way you judge, you will be judged; and by your standard of measure, it will be measured to you. Why do you look at the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? My God knows my heart, and that is all that matters.

Let me know what you think on this subject matter, but please be nice and kind. There is already too much cruelty in the world don’t add to it.

P.S. I am almost done watching 13 reasons why and I have a few ideas on how I wants to use this show/book so stay tune!

If I were to be persecution for my faith, I hope there is enough evidence to convict me.

Leave a Reply

