In Honor of Chester

Today I got up and went to work. I took notes for kid who will never know who I am and  I will never know who he is. I typed the noted, went home, and ate mac and cheese.

I got a message. “Hey, Lez, did you hear? Chester Bennington was found dead today.”

“Chester Bennington?”

“Linkin Park.”

And then the conversation started.

I loved Linkin Park; their songs got me through some of the darkest years of life (yes high school) and I still enjoying listening to them.

This is not a suicide post (it looks like he died from suicide) that will come later on. Today I want to honor him my providing you with some of my favorite lyrics from his songs.

gettyimages-682949250_linkin_park_sell_out_1000-920x584

“Time is a valuable thing/Watch it fly by as the pendulum swings/ Watch it count down to the end of the day/The clock ticks life away” In the End

“I’m tired of being what you want me to be/ Feeling so faithless, lost under the surface/ I don’t know what you’re expecting of me/ Put under the pressure of walking in your shoes” Numb

“I don’t want to be the one the battles always choose/’cause inside I realize that I’m the one confused” Breaking the Habit 

“Sometimes solutions aren’t so simple/ Sometimes goodbye’s the only way, oh” Shadow of the Day 

“Put to rest what you thought of me/ While I clean this slate/ With the hands of uncertainty/ So let mercy come and wash away/ What I’ve done” What I have Done 

“The light on the horizon/ Was brighter yesterday/ Shadows floating over/ Skies begin to fade/ You said it was forever/ But then it slipped away” Final Masquerade

“In the wastelands of today/ Where tomorrow disappears/ While the future slips away/ And your hope turns into fear” Wastelands

These are just some. They made beautiful music that still helps and impacts thousands if not billions today.

Chester was not weak.

Chester was not retard (yes, I have heard people call him that)

Chester was not a coward (you have to be pretty damn brave to hang yourself)

Chester was suffering

Chester was hurt

Chester needed help

My prayers are with him and his family.

Once again like always if you are anyone you know is thinking about suicide please know you are not alone. Call 1-800-273-8255 or text 74174 1.

hotlines

“God bless us everyone/ We’re a broken people living under loaded gun/ And it can’t be outfought/ It can’t be out done/ It can’t be out matched/ It can’t be out run” Catalyst

Leave a Reply

